Competent Communicator Demonstrator

My husband Steven demonstrates competent communication within the context of customer service (30+ years of restaurant employment at every level) and human behavior. My husband meets no strangers and can talk to anyone about anything.  He fancies himself a comic genius, too, which makes me LOL every time I think of the idea.

11010619_1103838009641970_2895285160350178160_n

He exhibits behaviors that indeeds make him an effective communicator.  He is succinct in his own words and truly listens to what the other speaker is stating. Upon first meeting him, people think he is quiet and mean but his persona is purposeful.  He takes time to gauge atmosphere.

 

fc5af40144f09b691e21ca8d0c9162d2

I definitely want to model my own communication behaviors after my husband’s. He often tells me that even though I can relate to what the other person is saying and may have a similar story, I need to limit sharing that fact because people began to think that I only know how to talk about me.  I should allow people to have their own moment understanding that every conversation is not an opportunity to “share”. Sometimes people just need you to listen.

90e509ec460750cec37a7c9f01aedf68  cartoons-communication

 

5 thoughts on “Competent Communicator Demonstrator

  1. Hi Latrece,

    I love the way you have your post and included different quotes. Sometimes it’s important to observe the nonverbal communication skills that people are showing to get the accurate picture of what they are trying to say. My hats off to your husband. Having excellent communication skills are essential in the food service field and sometimes very hard to do because people likely are complaining about something. I served in the military for twenty-six years before becoming an early childhood educator, and my military occupation was food service. Of course, we were always Soldiers first, but we had the extra job of providing customer service to other Soldiers. We communicated with them on a daily basis during meal times and the verbal, and nonverbal communication we displayed could make or break their day.

    • Anita, thank you for your service. I am glad that the early education profession gets to have you now. You will make a great difference in the lives of the children especially with your added military background. Wonderful.

  2. I have to agree that having a supportive husband or one to look up to is very special. That is great that he can communicate and joke all at the same time. Good communication skills are a great seller of anything.

  3. I like that comment about the most important thing about communication is to hear what is not being said. Non-verbal communication skills are just as important as verbal skills.

    • That’s exactly right. I remember we had a meeting on a Saturday for work purposes. I dressed the part (football) but my nonverbal spoke much louder so much so that one of my coworkers said it out loud.

Leave a comment